Grilled Tuna and Avocado Wrap (and where on earth I have been)

When people say they’re too busy to do something, it usually sounds…well, cool. Like they have so much going on, so many people to see and things to do, that they just cannot tear themselves away. This time I am not one of those people.

I have neglected my blog, I admit. The stress, subsequent illnesses and dissertation I foolishly signed up for (at the last minute) that have kept me away from blogging are all entirely my fault. And I am sorry to say that I have absolutely not been practicing what I preach these past few months, either. It is all to easy to let food become the thing that gets you by rather than something that makes you healthy and happy.

So on that note I am back with a recipe that was inspired by a particularly happy time I spent in A Shot in the Dark, on City Road, Cardiff. Their tuna and avocado wrap was so good that I just had to try making one for myself, with a few modifications. And, for the record, it goes excellently with one of their zesty daiquiris.

Grilled Tuna and Avocado Wrap

(serves 2)

2 tortilla wraps

1 tin of sustainably fished tuna (look for the MSC logo, or pole-and-line caught tuna)

1 soft, ripe avocado

Optional extras: roasted vegetables, cheese, chilli, salsa, lime juice

1. Preheat whatever cooking device you will be using (a dry frying pan, griddle pan or grill). Drain the tuna and cut the avocado lengthways, removing the stone.

IMG_06962. Scoop the avocado flesh into a mixing bowl and add the tuna. Mix together until mostly consistent (if your avocado isn’t meltingly soft, just mush it with the back of your spoon).  Season well and add whatever other ingredients you fancy.

3. Place half the mixture in a sausage shape down the centre of one tortilla wrap. Fold the tortilla to make a cylinder shape, then fold each end underneath to make a parcel. Place carefully onto the heat and toast on both sides until golden brown. Repeat for the second wrap.

Nothing says comfort-food like a warm toastie, and this is essentially just a posh one. Serve with salad leaves for a filling lunch, or add some of these sweet potato wedges for a main meal. Try not to have both to yourself…

Don’t forget to subscribe, follow or Like if you like what you see.

This entry was published on February 2, 2014 at 2:26 pm. It’s filed under Food, Lunch, Mains, Starters and Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

