Recipe Review: Broccoli Courgette and Mint Soup, by Lullaby for Pies

I can’t resist it. Maybe I’m just too eager with the blender, but I love making soup. It’s so satisfying to have it there, waiting in the fridge, all fresh and good for you. So when I dug this recipe from Lullaby for Pies out of my favourites, I decided to give it a go.

I have an obsession with mint at the moment. It’s one of the easiest herbs to grow, indoors or outdoors, and doesn’t need full sunlight. Even if it is just on the windowsill, there is no excuse for dried mint – fresh is just unbeatable.

Not only that, but soup isn’t just for the winter months (although this one would taste good and thick with the addition of potato in cold weather). The fresh, green flavours of this soup make it perfect for the not-so-sunny days we get here in Britain.

Click here for the full recipe.

The Verdict

Making the soup was a complete doddle. Aside from my forgetting to add the mint before blending, it was easy to follow with a simple, refreshing flavour. Completely different from any soup I’ve had before. Highly recommended for a light lunch, or perhaps top with some parmesan if you’re feeling indulgent.

What do you make of it? Give it a go – I’d love to hear from you.

This entry was published on August 16, 2013 at 4:12 pm. It’s filed under Food, Recipe Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Recipe Review: Broccoli Courgette and Mint Soup, by Lullaby for Pies

  1. thank you so much for the review, glad you liked it! and great idea to add some potatoes for the winter, I’ll definitely do that 🙂 xx

  2. I love the idea of combining mint and zucchini – I’ve never tried that before. Will definitely make this. And really LOVE your tip for mint on the windowsill. I am going to pot up a piece of mine and bring it inside for the winter – great idea!

  3. Sometimes the promise of a bowl of soup is the brightest light on a cold day and yours looks delicious. Mint is a weed here, so we ONLY grow it in pots, otherwise it overruns the garden. I love zucchini and mint together – in any season.

Leave a Reply

