The Whole Bagel, Bath – Bigger and Better

What is it about bagels that makes them so good? Whatever it is, it is great when you find somewhere that sells them fresh.

The last time I visited The Whole Bagel in Bath I wound up eating my lunch on a public bench, feeling my fingers slowly turn blue. Back on that December day there was no seating, limited choice and – shocker – untoasted bagels. Not to say that my smoked salmon and cream cheese bagel wasn’t good – it was. In fact, it was on the merit of that bagel that I decided to go back.

When I did, I was astonished. Now four doors down, The Whole Bagel has upstairs and outdoor seating, along with an expanded menu. After much deliberation, I decided to go with a New Yorker: pastrami, mustard, pickles and lettuce. I customized it (they are very flexible fellows) by adding some light mayo and chose the poppyseed bagel. On being served I had another surprise – their complimentary creamy potato salad.

IMG_0416

Despite the nice presentation here, The Whole Bagel’s prices are reasonable and excellent for getting lunch to-go. They cost around £4-5 and come with a substantial amount of filling. Other tempting choices on the menu include hummus and olive, goat’s cheese and pesto, and their gourmet pear, brie and walnut bagel. Everything is fresh, and good quality to boot. The sign says it all, really:

IMG_0418

If you are ever feeling peckish in Bath, The Whole Bagel is definitely worth a look.

This entry was published on August 9, 2013 at 8:41 pm. It’s filed under Food, Lunch, Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “The Whole Bagel, Bath – Bigger and Better

  1. Bath has so many great places to eat. I haven’t been in awhile. I should visit.

  2. Hi, new reader! 🙂 I really fancy a bagel now!

  3. That looks to be a seriously good bagel. I have family near Bath so I will have to check this out next time I am down there in September!

Leave a Reply

